Posted on

The Edible Woman

Margaret Atwood’s breakthrough novel and protofeminist treatise considers gender roles and societal expectations in the late 1960s through the metaphors of the hunt, consumption, and cannibalism.

I talked to Idris about this book a little bit, and he compared its subject matter to Jane Austen’s discussion of marriage as the realm within which women were ambitious in the early 19th century: it was a matter of survival and was approached almost as career decisions are now. In fact, connecting those dots – Austen’s Elizabeth Bennett to Ibsen’s Nora Helmer to Atwood’s Marian to me – can induce vertigo! Life has changed so much for Western women in just two centuries. And – as a cause, effect, and effect of the same cause – for men, too.

I struggled with this novel. Unsurprisingly, the writing itself was lovely in its rhythmic oscillation from poetic description and metaphor to concrete colloquial prose. But when the protagonist, Marian, loses it a little bit, her actions aren’t nearly as inexplicable as the reactions of others to her. In fact, almost everyone but Marian comes across as symbolic rather than real. This isn’t a complaint, exactly – after all, most of us view the minor characters in our lives as largely representational rather than authentic. I also found myself wondering if even compensating with the requisite inflation that comes with metaphor, there might be some hyperbole going on. But this is common for me: I have to confess that I really can’t fathom what these women went through, both inside and outside their heads. And this journey into one such woman’s mind was disorienting and somewhat unsatisfying for me. I wasn’t entirely happy with some of her decisions, and I didn’t know how I felt about how it all ended. That sort of thing.

This is only the second Atwood I’ve ever read – I finally read “Alias Grace” last year, and liked it quite a bit. I feel that she’s telling important stories, stories that haven’t been told before and are therefore mysterious – you really have no clue where it’s all heading. It’s not always the most enjoyable experience, but it’s unfailingly interesting and thought-provoking. And a little humbling. After all, being reminded that there are so many stories unlike my own really puts things into perspective.

(Cross-posted at Diet of Bookworms.)

Leave a Reply

